The YOUNG TRADITION ~ Oberlin 1968

The live reputation of the mighty Young Tradition lives long in the memories of all who heard them during their brief career. Live recordings were thought not to exist until, 45 years later, an American fan remembered the reel-to-reel recording he’d made at Oberlin College on 17th November 1968. Carefully restored, these tapes are now released by Fledg’ling Records on CD and DL.

The Young Tradition were formed on 18 April 1965 by Peter Bellamy, Royston Wood and Heather Wood – with a repertoire from the British folk tradition, fashion styling from Carnaby Street and lashings of attitude they soon firmly established themselves on the folk scene. Recording for Transatlantic records and international tours soon followed. Record companies will always make extravagant claims for their releases, but Oberlin 1968 really is a rare and truly wonderful historical release.

“Forty five years on but even now – or maybe especially now – Young Tradition blow your head off.” Colin Irwin, fRoots


Peter Bellamy : vocals
Heather Wood : vocals
Royston Wood : vocals

track list:
1   Prentice Boy
2   Knight William and the Shepherd’s Daughter
3   Banks of Claudy
4   Pretty Ploughboy
5   Banks of the Nile
6   Idumea
7   Me Husband’s Got No Courage In Him
8   Randy Dandy-O
9   Heave Away, Me Johnny
10  Haul on the Bowline / Bring ’em Down / Haul ’em Away
11  The Foxhunt
12  Ratcliffe Highway
13  The Two Magicians
14  John Barleycorn
15  The Husbandman and the Servingman
16  The Oyster Girl
17  The Innocent Hare
18  The Bold Fisherman
19  The German Musician
20  Wondrous Love
21  Lyke-Lake Dirge
22  Byker Hill
23  Blow the Man Down
24  Hanging Johnny
25  Paddy Doyle’s BootsRelease date : 30th September 2013
Barcode number: 5020393 309424